Cooking Is A Meal

Today I made dinner. That may sound rather trivial but then again, it may not. I had no plans on making dinner simply because I didn’t really have the drive to do so. Yet, I made dinner regardless. What motivated me? There is something about cooking  that is both cultivating and alluring. Something about both the act and the art of cooking is extremely satisfying.

I believe cooking has its own culture. When one cooks, one is cultivating their thoughts into the food they are making and also the thoughts of those who have influenced them. Whether cooking from an online recipe, an old family recipe, or simply experimenting with your food, some kind of influence is present. When we cook, we are forced to think about all the steps we will need to take to prepare our meal. This thought-process makes cooking an act.

On the other hand, when we cook, we pour ourselves into our ingredients, our meal, our presentation. We insert our own hands into our food, as it sizzles in a frying pan or bakes in an oven dish; we eventually sit down to find out what our insertion tastes like. For some, our insertion is mediocre and we can be satisfied by mediocre. For some, our insertion does not meet our expectations; for others it exceeds them. These insertions are examples of the art.

Although, cooking seems to go further than just receiving our own work back with a grade that we stamp onto it ourselves. Cooking becomes a culture once past the act of cooking, past the art of the act. Cooking can bring people together. Today, I cooked but I didn’t cook just for myself; I cooked for my roommates too (even though I wasn’t sure if they would eat my cooking.) That possibility of a social interaction is a partial factor for my motivation to cook.

Once I finished, I waited patiently; one came flocking to the meal and expressed his gratitude and approval. Although this feedback was taken graciously for the sake of being courteous, it was also taken happily as a means of bettering my mood. I have seen food produce social gatherings in ways that nothing else can. For the sake of bringing people together, making people build relationship, maintaining those relationships, food is a monumental.

As momentous as food is, sadly I feel that fewer and fewer people partake in its glory. Our lives are so busy nowadays that cooking seems so obsolete. I’m not sure if this is a stigma in American society but it feels as if it is. Cooking does indeed take time, energy and drive and the results that can be produced from it are what make cooking worthwhile. For me, cooking is much more than a skill; it is a factor that allows me to embrace who I am. Although many differing opinions exists, everyone needs to eat so why not put ourselves forward if there will be a slight chance something good will happen? I think it’s pretty worth it if you ask me.

Oh! And in case anyone was wondering what I made for dinner: stuffed peppers.


Just as my meals are a collection of my thoughts, I ask that you make a meal as well. Please, leave your meals below as all meals are welcome at my table.

One thought on “Cooking Is A Meal

  1. I cook most of the times instead of eating out. I cook for hours sometimes, taking my time, being deliberately slow, enjoying the entire process and then being satisfied by my pieces of art 🙂 It’s not possible to cook like this all the time because of busy schedules and my ever-growling tummy, but on the days I do cook this way, it feels like I’m taking a break from the world.

    I miss the flavors, the aroma and the entire act of cooking as it is done back home. So, I identify it as becoming a culture in that sense.

    Great piece 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

