A Realization For the Pineapple

Once again, it’s roughly 4:30 AM and I’m lying in bed. I often lie in bed at this time of night. I mean, after all, where else would I lie at this time of night? A coffin? No, I’m not dead yet. A couch? No, I haven’t been deprived of my bed rights as of yet. No, my bed is often where I am at 4:30 AM.

Anyway, excuse my rambunctious tangent. Tonight, or today rather, has been one of recuperation. I have recently lost my voice to my new job (which I love by the way), and I also just happened to catch both a sinus and throat infection at the same time. So, for the past couple of days, all I’ve wanted to do was lie in bed and not move and just try not to feel like crap. However, lying here in bed got me to thinking about my blog. I’ve come to realize that I actually really like to blog! I don’t know why I hadn’t been doing it longer in life. I suppose maybe I hadn’t had much content to blog about so I didn’t start one or maybe I was too afraid but either way, regardless of the reason, I’m glad I’m doing it now.

Honestly, blogging is an art. Blogging is another form of writing, which is already an art in itself. It’s quite a delicate procedure how one puts together words to formulate sentences which formulate ideas that people can understand. It’s not easy to do and it’s not always easy to keep it interesting. However, should it matter if others do not find my content interesting? I mean, yes I would love an audience but I find that just blogging makes me happy and so I’d want to do it regardless. Even if nobody ever found out about my blog, that’s OK. I am content with that idea because finding an audience was not the reason I started this blog. Actually, now that I think about it, I can’t remember why I started this blog.

I do remember that my first post was lost and didn’t really know what it wanted to be either. I did state that I’d try to find out exactly what I wanted this blog to be about and I think I have finally found the answer! I decided that this blog is just going to be about whatever is on my mind and whatever I feel like talking about. It’ll be a diary of sorts, except it’s public and people can read it and my thoughts are no longer private.

I know that blogs tend to have a specific reason to get started; some like to start one so they can specifically talk about politics or pop culture or what-have-you. For me, journaling and being a diarist is much more appealing because I, admittedly, believe my opinions to be valuable and entertaining. I express myself quite often but I also try to remain respectful in my day-to-day reality; but on a blog, I can get away with saying exactly what I want to say, how I want to say it. Yes, I then put myself at risk for scrutinizing from commenters but I am OK with that because, if I so choose, I can simply turn the comments off. I have no plans on doing this however, because I would like anyone who stumbles across this little public piece of my brain to interact with it, past the level of reading.

I have also just realized something else. Blogs are powerful tools that give the creator lots of freedom, at least on WordPress. I can enable comments, private posts, remove post, customize menu options, add media of different kind, etc. It’s quite fascinating actually. Granted, while I have probably not made full use of all the options at my disposal, I do enjoy learning about what I can do to make this little part of the internet my own little corner. I still have no idea exactly where I’m directing this ship to as of yet or what goals it has or if it even has any goals. What I do know though, is what kind of ship I’m sailing now.

Well, I think I’ve said all I wanted to say. My brain is drawing a blank so I figure I must’ve said all I wanted to say. I suppose until next time, I bid everyone a good day (or night if you prefer.)


It may be my journal but I still hold the same values I always have. Please, feel free to leave a comment below if you like. As I have said before, all thoughts are welcome in my diary.

Interject Your Thoughts!

