No Flowers Allowed; Fruits Only!

Recently I was reading through my reader and came across one of Mon‘s posts. She is such a lovely girl, and her posts are just absolutely captivating as she has a highly prevalent voice. Her post was actually a challenge and an interesting one. I decided I would take a swing at it, this Veracity Challenge. The elimination of flowers for a change, makes us focus on the fruits.

Here goes nothing!

Can one communicate without adjectives? Can one say what must be said, withholding descriptions that accommodate? Yes. However, one must realize that conversation would be avoided. Descriptions allow humans to express their thoughts entirely. They allow humans to avoid the miscommunication of ideas. Still, humans recognize that adjectives complicate communication; yet, we humans have evolved to sift through the complexity of language and therefore adjectives. While eliminating adjectives could reduce confusion, doing so could increase it. Humans should continue to use adjectives, as such expressions are encoded into our ways of talking.

I believe I successfully completed the challenge. However, I am human and make mistakes. Be sure to read thoroughly over the italicized paragraph and make sure it stands firm in the requirements of the challenge.

That was quite fun! I enjoyed racking my brain trying to stretch my writer’s hand and remembering what constitutes as adjectives, adverbs and those in-between as stated in grammatical rules. I’d love to do something like that again. However, I will quickly say that the elimination of flowers produces no fruits. The same applies with adjectives and grammar; how can one taste the flavors of language if they repress parts of it?

Now, as for the last portion of the challenge, I’m going to nominate 6 others to complete this challenge! They will be listed below. Keep in mind that it’s anyone’s choice to do this whether nominated or not but I promise it’s a fun moment to spare.

Officially Nominated:

Creating My World

The Lace In My Head Mirrors the Cosmic Mind

hippocriticali’s blog

Occupations of Uninhabited Space

Indigo Stop

a cooking pot and twistedtales

Good luck guys! Have fun! Until next time, cheers!


Did you try the challenge? If so, how did you fare? Does the elimination of adjectives stifles language and communication or not? Leave your comments below!

One thought on “No Flowers Allowed; Fruits Only!

Interject Your Thoughts!

