An Evening With Eloy

Hi Wonderful Listeners!

So, recently I went to see Eloy again. After getting home from school, I decided to spend the rest of my evening with him. I was fulfilling my promise to him and returning to enjoy his company. I walked down the street from my apartment to his duplex home which was rather calming.

When I arrived at his residence, he was outside working in his yard like on the day we met. I believe he was in the process of loading up his truck with furniture and garbage to toss. Since he is often collecting things, fixing them up and selling them, he is also often tossing things away to make space. I stopped him in the middle of what he was doing, or rather he stopped himself to greet me.

We chatted about his past as a bilingual teacher (again) and just discussed some things about our perspective on the universe. We specifically brought up how good energy is a powerful thing; how you spread yours and read others’ is crucial in how we interact with others. It was quite a wonderful conversation.

Eventually he invited me into his home and I brought up the fact that I specifically came to see him. That made him so happy. He gave me a hug and I gave him one back. Even though we were still strangers, I could sense how my small presence had a huge impact on him. I, to be honest, did feel a bit uneasy just hugging him as I still don’t know him all that well but his reaction made up for my awkwardness.

When I entered his house, I immediately got a feeling of a comfy home. He had personal belongings and knick-knacks all over the place. It just reminded me of an elderly home, like that of a grandparent. Eloy began to bring up how he lives alone and that really kind of hit me. I thought to myself, “Why does a man like him live alone? He’s too nice for that.”

Not too long after we entered his house, his younger sister came in. She was apparently planning to show up and picking somethings up anyway. She said hello and commented on how young I looked for 20. Then she left after that. Eloy kinda blurted out how she stresses him out. He said that she was the reason for most of the stress in his life. He then went on to explain to me how he retired with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) as his disability. Apparently, having his sister around only raises his stress because she’s a nosy and probing person.

He explained to me that him and his relationship to his sister and family is an interesting one. He hadn’t always had it easy (and still kinda doesn’t now.) His family, but mainly his sister, disapprove of his lifestyle. Eloy, has been single all his life, never investing into a marriage; he believes that marriage is too flaky and that so many people get divorced that there’s no real meaning behind it anymore.

He also explained how he was kind of like me (even though he doesn’t know it), in the sense that he may be queer of sorts. He’s explored gay bars and some queer environments but realized that he’s not really into its culture. He would rather just be alone, living his life how he wants to, away from judgment. As he said, “I don’t want to be like them. I want to be me. That’s all.”

Honestly, receiving all of this information made me think. It kinda show me the kind of person Eloy can be, or is. I understand his plight however. Not being completely accepted by your family, especially your immediate one, can hurt. On top of that, if they’re slightly pressuring you to be like they want you to be rather than accepting you as you are, it can become discouraging. It only made me feel for his story more.

We spent the rest of the evening, unexpectedly, having dinner together and watching the news; we even saw Jackass. It was a surreal experience for me. While I admit that the food was spectacular, the whole unfolding of the evening was awfully strange for me. I think because he kept referring every now and again to sexual jokes, I was made uneasy. Still, he kept me in good spirit. I knew that behind those words, was a man who just wanted company and the chance to speak his mind. So I gave him that.

After all of that, I had to depart and get back to my apartment. I honestly needed to do a bit of homework and catching up on other errands. He thanked me for spending time with him and I thanked him. He even suggested that we go see a movie together soon and I accepted that invitation. Before I left though, he gave me another hug. He really did enjoy having me around, that much I could tell.

You know, in retrospect, the genesis of our relationship is a strange one. Our acquaintanceship is strange too. The entire evening was strange, but somehow, I don’t regret it. I don’t regret one single thing. I suppose it’s not crazy to think that I might be uncomfortable. After all, Eloy is the first stranger I’ve ever pursued acquaintanceship with without any social setup; I just went out on a limb and spent time with him to get to know him better. It feels good to do this sort of thing but because it is new, it is naturally awkward for me.

I know I’ll be seeing him again. Maybe I’ll have a story for that time too. But this story has come to an end. So until next time, take care my Wonderful Listeners and cheers!


Have you ever went out on a limb to get to know someone? Leave all your thoughts below!

2 thoughts on “An Evening With Eloy

Interject Your Thoughts!

