For The Love of ASMR

Hey there Wonderful Listeners!

I’m gotta say, I’m a bit nervous about this one. But I’m gonna talk about it anyway! So have I secret I wish to share… I have this condition. It’s not terminal, fatal or anything like that. It’s not bad but it is a weird one. Let me just say that I’m weird to begin with!

But have any of you who are reading this, heard of something called ASMR? It’s a rather strange condition that has its own community, and I belong to that community. It’s a pretty nice community to be in actually.ย 

In case you’re wondering ASMR or Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response, is a really lovely sensation where you get these tingles that kind of surge in parts of your body. The tingles relax you to high heaven and, aww, it’s just wonderful. Well, that’s my explanation of it. I don’t really know how to describe it well. Luckily someone has done that for me already! ๐Ÿ™‚

ASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response and is the current (non-scientific) name given to the feeling characterized as a pleasurable tingling sensation felt in the head, scalp, back and other regions of the body in response to visual, auditory, tactile, olfactory, and/or cognitive stimuli, such as crinkling bags, hand movements, whispering and personal attention.

The description above is credited to a channel named Ephemeral Rift. He’s an “ASMRtist” as we of the community like to call those who craft content for ASMR purposes. He’s one of my many favorite creators who helps me get to sleep at night.

If you prefer, you can watch this 11 minute video explanation of it below. It does it better than I or the description above may. Please listen with earbuds/headphones for the best results.

Credited to TheWaterwhispersIlse

I don’t really know how to express my love for ASMR but it exists. Hmm. Maybe I should explain myself.

Well, I didn’t know what ASMR was called but I’ve had it since I was a young child. I remember very vividly going into a shoe store and having my foot measured. I suddenly had this pleasurable sensation of tingly euphoria come over me. I couldn’t explain why I got it but I did. I would say most likely because it was a personal attention situation, where someone was focused on attending to my needs.

Then I felt it again when I went to the doctor’s office because I had the flu. Oddly enough, I’ve never felt uncomfortable going to the doctor. I’ve always felt happy to see them. Now as an adult, I look forward to going, hoping that my ASMR might kick in on me.

I never knew how to harvest the sensation or how to “trigger” it (as we say in the community) until I was about 16 or 17. I was browsing through YouTube at like midnight and I was looking up videos with doctoral exams. They always kept me calm and I’ve had an interest in them. Then I saw a suggested video in the sidebar and voilรก! I stumbled into the ASMR community. At that point I was browsing around and before I knew it, I was hooked. I’ve been a part of it ever since.

Lots of people tend to think it’s weird to watch videos of people doing mundane things like brushing hair, playing with marbles, scratching and tapping surfaces, and especially role-playing, just to name a few. I don’t think it is. But that’s because I enjoy doing that kind of thing.

In fact, the ASMR community gets a really bad rap for being “sensual” about its content. But the thing about ASMR is that it is totally reliant on the exact opposite! There’s never anything sexual about it and those who put out content labeled with ASMR and are incorporating that purposely are doing an injustice to the community. I mean, it’s one thing if the person on screen is really attractive (and we have plenty of them in our community), and another if the person on screen is purposely seducing you.

Anyway, I’m very curious to know if any of you out there experience this as well! This sensation is good for relaxation and it even helps with insomnia I’ve heard! I don’t have insomnia but lots in the community do and they have benefited from the videos.

Oh! I wonder if some of you have it and don’t realize it? ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess now would be a good time as any to put out a test video for you. Well, I’m just gonna drop one of my favorites below for you to watch. It is about 14 minutes long. Keep in mind that this is a short video compared to most. ASMR videos can go on for as long as an hour (sometimes even more!)

Go on. Take a moment to watch it. Be sure to listen with headphones/earbuds for the best results!

Credited to ASMRGAINS

Now don’t feel bad if it doesn’t float your boat. That’s happens quite frequently actually. The amount of content is so vast that there’s always something that will fit your needs (if you have ASMR, even if it is a mild form.) Trust me. While I absolutely love watching examination role-plays, not all exam role-plays work for me. Some are better than others and some only work on certain days for me.

ASMR is a very personal thing. If you find you have it, and truly give it a chance, you can benefit so much from using it! You’ll be looking for ways to secretly get it out of real life moments without calling attention to what you’re doing. Well, maybe you’re not that excited. Not like me. ๐Ÿ™‚

I could go on forever with all the different ways to receive ASMR but it’s always best to go and investigate yourself. There are many “triggers” that exist: flashlight following, hand movements, whispering, tapping, accents, mouth sounds, etc. Find out which ones work for you.

I’ve embedded another video below about different triggers. It’s about 25 minutes long. If you’re interested, I highly suggest you watch it. Your trigger may not be there but it gives you an idea about the different kinds out there. Again, please wear headphones/earbuds for the best results!

Credited to TheWaterwhispersIlse

Once you find out what triggers work for you, you have to find out who performs them the best for your needs. While every ASMRtist has their perks, not everyone will be a fan. Some people only like male ASMRtists, some only females and some both. Some people like ASMRtists who are quirky like Ephemeral Rift. Maybe you fancy simple ASMRtists like RelaxingASMR. Whatever works for you is out there!

I personally recommend all of the people I’ve linked to. They’re all great in their own ways.

Anyway, I think I’m done with my little ramble about this odd topic. I’m still curious to know if those videos did anything for you. Whether or not, I’d love to know so leave a comment below! If you also have any questions, feel free to ask them and I can try to answer them as best as possible. ๐Ÿ™‚

This topic is very near and dear to me so don’t be surprised if I bring it up again sometime! Honestly, the world could use with some relaxation! But for now I think I’ll turn in with the videos opened in my other tabs.

So until next time, good night Wonderful Listeners and cheers!


Have you ever heard of ASMR? Do you have ASMR? If so, what “triggers” you? Do you think ASMR is weird? Leave all your thoughts below!

11 thoughts on “For The Love of ASMR

  1. Fascinating. I don’t have that. Sure wish I could trade in the tics I get for what you got. My tics can start off very mildly so that no one notices it but me, like maybe an eyebrow twitch or something, but then it will spread like wildfire throughout my body and become very violent. I’ve been told by my neurologist that this has nothing to do with any seizure disorders. They’re just harmless tics. But man, they can be annoying and embarrassing.

    Thanks for sharing another part of your world.

    Memee

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, tics I most certainly don’t have. But, y’know, there’s a charm about your tics I’m sure. I choose to believe that. But I will say thank you for reading up about ASMR. Even if you don’t have it, at least there’s something new for you to learn!
      Thanks for stopping by! It was my pleasure to see you again ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

        1. Well, I’m just on a journey to be myself. So I’m trying, as much as I can, to be myself. As long as I do that, the uniqueness will follow. Thanks for the compliment. I’ve missed you in the comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

