I Appreciate You, I Do

Hey there Wonderful Listeners.

I just needed to take a small moment and say something. It’s something rather important and I mean it when I say it.

I appreciate you guys. I really do.

What has prompted me to say this? Well, as a fellow blogger in the blog-o-sphere, sometimes I take notice to a certain number. That number would the number of followers a blogger might have.

I am a small blogger in this world-wide-web of blogs in existence. I do what I do because I love doing it and it makes me happy. Furthermore, it makes other people happy too. But as an underdog, as a small-fry, I do wish I had what other people have sometimes. Sometimes, I wish I did have 500+ followers.

But you know what? A very special (and funny) woman reminded me that that’s not what blogging is necessarily about. She reminded me that it’s OK to be an underdog; after all, we all start somewhere. She reminded me that I make my content for the few who do follow. They are the ones who comment and like and share my content. They are the ones who thought I was worthy enough to spend some time with.

Catherine, we’ve only know each other for a short time as it stands but you’ve brought a light into my life that I absolutely enjoy. Thank you.

If you don’t know about Catherine, please do yourself a favor and check her out! There’s nothing typical about her, being frank.

But getting back to what I was saying, I make my content for those who think I’m cool enough to spend time with. Yes, I do what I do for you guys. For the not even 100 of you. I wouldn’t be where I’m at if it were not for you guys, you Wonderful Listeners. Because you took the time to listen to what I had to say, and for that you are wonderful.

I do hope that I don’t get caught up in that mentality again (or anytime soon.) It’s not the best place to be. So again, let me thank you guys for sticking by me! You are so awesome.

Well with that said, I’m gonna go now. I can’t wait to see you next time. So until then, cheers, as always!

19 thoughts on “I Appreciate You, I Do

  1. Yes. Want over 500? Nope. I won’t share you with so many people. Boo. ;D But yeah. She us right. It is for those who subscribed to it. But I am sure that with time your reader panel will grow πŸ™‚ Good luck Piney!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Carlos. You know I love your blog. I think it was back in November when I went through a period of why the heck am I doing this, nobody is reading it. Once I removed by following counter all the pressure was lifted and I no longer care who follows me. I don’t check my stats but once a year, which is probably why I too have low numbers despite what has been at times really great quality stuff (not lately but much of it) — LOL! Now I just do it when I want to do it and what I want to do. I got in this for myself but somehow became convinced in blogging 101 that it was more important how many people followed me than whether or not I loved my blog. Anyway, I love seeing your face and reading your writing.

    Funny thing happened the other day. Something I had always suspected. I was on my website and watched as someone went through hitting like on all of my recent posts (no time to read even one of them or catch the headline). So all those numbers, they don’t really matter anyway. We love you and love that you appreciate and love us back! Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh memee! You just know what to say don’t you? Well, I’ve come to realize this too. Somewhere along the way, I too got convinced that followers were important but it’s about the connections more than anything.
      I’ve also seen that numbers thing happen to me! I wondered how I could get so many likes in one day and yet hardly any views. People are just liking it to like and move on… I’d rather they just skip reading it as they already do.
      Thanks again. And a Happy New Year to you too!

      Like

  3. I’ve finally decided my blogs are for me, my family and whoever else wants to stop by! I really haven’t tried to become a great and popular blogger! As one very popular blogger with over 500 followers said, it does put a lot of pressure on her to keep it up! I’m into minimalism because I don’t want any more pressure on me than what life hands us!
    To be honest, when I first looked your blog over, I thought, WOW, this guy must have tons of followers, his blog is fantastic! I still think that and didn’t know how many followers you have! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah but it’s kinda like the best things in life; they are often overlooked. I understand the minimalism aspect for sure. No more pressure than necessary. But no, I don’t have many and maybe I don’t really need many. I just need the few who are like friends πŸ™‚
      Thank you Debbie. I enjoy our visits πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. And it’s hard not to get to sucked into stat checking…I think every blogger does it but it drove me crazy!! I am much happier not worrying about it! Jacqueline is right, with time your real/true readers will emerge, those that resonate with you, and you will appreciate them more than the number. (Quality vs quantity)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. My count is low but I can still name a few people off the top of my head whom I expect to see around. And we always have great interactions. That’s what I wanted so I’m happy I’m getting that. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Very well said and I agree with Catherines opinion. Also, do bear in mind that some are simply following others to incite a reaction and crunch up their numbers, because you are likely not sure they would even bother to say hello. Just keep doing what you are doing and with time your real readers will emerge.

    Liked by 2 people

Interject Your Thoughts!

