A Fruitful Interview

Hello Wonderful Listeners!

Let me just quickly say that one can find joy in the most trivial of things. Truly! I am quite content with myself from yesterday’s events! πŸ™‚

Well, if you’d like to know (which if you didn’t you probably wouldn’t be reading this πŸ˜› ) I had an interview yesterday. Not directed at me though. No. I interviewed someone rather. This was quite an interesting and fruitful experience, I must say!

I’m currently taking a class called Expanded Media I. For the current assignment, we were supposed to pick someone to interview who would help us grow as an artist. I thought the concept was a bit odd but I totally think (after the fact) that it should be done more often! I learned so much from my interview with my chosen candidate.

And who might this candidate be? Well, her name is Shiloh Booker. She teaches in the English department at my university. I actually had her as one of my professors during my freshman year. In fact, (if I remember correctly) she was the first professor I encounteredΒ at my university. And that class was great. I learned so much from her, not just about English and bettering my skills at it, but about life. Much more fruitful of a class than I expected it to be. Thankfully!

What made me think of her after over 2 years of not speaking and no contact, was the fact that she had a passion for creative writing. In fact, she has a Masters in Poetry. She’s a fantastic poet I’ve learned (after doing my needed research.) And she made such a huge impact on me so I simply couldn’t forget her. Plus, I know that creative writing is a part of my process as an artist, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity! πŸ™‚ We’d get to reconnect and catch up while knocking out required work!

Well, I held the interview with her at the requested time and I just couldn’t believe how much information I was getting from her. She really just knew herself and was so open about her process and who she was. I just got caught up in her words and her story. But I had to keep reminding myself that this was an interview and not a casual conversation. :/

Now I’m most certainly not the best interviewer,Β but I do have experience in doing it. When I was in middle and high school, I did journalism work. I liked it at the time so I guess I was just brushing off the dust, y’know? And to give myself some credit, I think I did a good job. Most certainly, it was not the worst interview I’ve ever done.

Want to read the interview transcript?Β  Click the link below.

Booker Interview

After this fruitful interview, I stuck around to just have causal conversation. And it felt like catching up with an old friend. I mean, granted, we were only student and teacher when I was a freshman. But this go around, it felt like we really were friends just chatting it up! It was glorious! It really makes me wanna just stop by her office more often just to see her. Shoot, it makes me wanna grab a coffee with her (or in my case, tea! πŸ˜‰ )

Y’all, she’s loads of fun! As a teacher sheΒ can be a bit stern but if you don’t give her a reason to be that way, she won’t be. Ah. I’m getting sidetracked. The conversation we had is not important (for you guys at least πŸ˜› ) but how I feel about it, that is. And I feel good! πŸ˜€

Thank goodness! I did also promise her that after I’m done with converting this interview into a piece of creative work, that I’d show her it. I’ll be more than happy to do so! Plus, it’ll give me another reason to see her again. πŸ™‚

But now, I have to get back to working. Seriously, I can’t be wasting my time this semester! πŸ˜‰ I do hope y’all will have a good day!

So, until the next time, cheers!


Β If someone were to interview you about your creative efforts, what might you have to say? Leave all your thoughts below!

27 thoughts on “A Fruitful Interview

  1. This was wonderful! I love her openness. I’d love to read her memoir, too. So many of us grew up around alcoholics….I just adored my dad, who was also a gambler. But he had a high IQ and managed to earn a living. He gave my mom 1/2 his salary for the family to live on and then he gambled the rest to TRY and win the big one. He adored me, but we had a falling out when I was sixteen and it was over a decade before we talked again-when I have him a granddaughter! His one and only-he had three grandsons.
    Anyway, I can’t imagine what Shiloh went through. And then to go on and on in her education, to become a professor is fantastic!
    Did you talk to her about blogging? I’d love to read some of her works….
    Great job! You both have inspired me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We actually didn’t discuss blogging. Currently she is so busy on projects that such an avenue is not the best idea. Although, it certainly would be something she can try in the future. πŸ™‚ Maybe I’ll suggest it to her when I see her next.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I bet the conversation after the interview was even better than the interview. Teaching is so rewarding because it pays you long after retirement with experiences like these. πŸ™‚ Thanks for illustrating how much of a difference teachers make.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truly a blessing for me to experience!! Honestly, it was a great conversation we had after the interview. It was slightly better to be honest πŸ˜‰ But I’m glad you enjoyed this post Michelle. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

