Making The Dean’s List!

Hi there Wonderful Listeners!

I must say that an important event has transpired last Thursday. If you would like to know, I had the pleasure of being invited to a reception at my university. Now what exactly brought me to such an upscale event? Simple, I was being honored for my achievements.

In fact, I had made the Dean’s List for the Fall 2015 semester! Trust me, I was happy but this came as no surprise to me. This is not the first time I have made it onto the Dean’s List since I started college. In fact, I think it’s the third time. Yeah, I’m good like that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, before I come off as too confident, this is was the first time I’ve ever gone to the reception event itself to be honored in person. I figured that showing up and having the experience would be very good for me.

But let me tell you that I had to go through so much to be get inside! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I mean, the lines were longer than I wanted them to be.

IMG_3646
I waited in this line for at least 40 minutes. When I took this photo, I was already 10 minutes in! What you don’t know is that this line stretched around 2 other hallways and out a set of doubled doors.

My feet were also killing me at this point because I had to wear dress shoes all day because I didn’t have the capacity to bring a change of clothes. On the bright side, I looked uppity all day! ๐Ÿ™‚

While waiting in line, I couldn’t help but pay attention to all of the faculty pictures in the hallway. Whenever I see a photo, I often tend to look at it great detail. I mean, photography is turning into my livelihood after all. Can anyone really be surprised?

IMG_3647
Seriously, even though I was like 6 feet away, I couldn’t help but blatantly stare at these pictures. Interesting how people choose to be depicted.

But I finally managed to get inside. I did have to swipe my ID to get in and I got a free pen! Awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_3648
Cool pen. It’s nice and shiny and even has a felt sleeve! I’m moving up in the world! And this pen writesย really good! It’s my new favorite pen!

Oh, and I got a T-shirt because I was smart and diligent enough to get a 4.0 for that semester. Cool, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_3655
Man I even got a shirt?! Wow, now I can even advertise my achievement! By the way, that shirt is so soft. I mean, I could sleep in that thing.

 

After I was able to get inside, I had the pleasure of meeting ย Thomas Clark, Head of the Music Department. He was actually standing in for John Fleming, who is the Dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communication. I do wish I had the pleasure of actually meeting my actual dean, but Mr. Clark was an awesome stand-in!

IMG_3649
Excuse me as I look a bit ragged but I worked with what I had. Anyway, that’s Thomas on the left there. He’s a nice fellow!

Thomas Clark actually had a photo blog! Crazy, right? Why not go check it out? Maybe it’ll give you something cool to look at!

After, shaking hands and discussing trivialities, I walked around for a bit. There was harp player performing at the center of the reception. She was absolutely stunning to listen to; I honestly would’ve stayed just to listen to her if I wasn’t so tired already.

But, nothing much happened after I met Mr. Clark. Literally, I just grabbed some finger foods, ate, and left. I was ready to go and leave at that point. So I did.

On the way out, I did go back to the Dean’s List plaque. I passed it on the way but I figured it would be smart to go to after the reception was basically over and look at it. If I must be frank, it was kinda cool to know my name was up on a wall to be marveled.

IMG_3653
My name is somewhere up there!

Then I had to go and find my name myself, among the many names. It actually didn’t take me long to find it because I am often stuck dead-center in the middle. And in this case, I was yet again.

IMG_3654
Oh, wait. There it is! I even get a star next to my name!

Pretty much after that, I left to go home.

I will admit, having to dress up, look nice, and present myself for the sake of be honored was also cool. However, I realized this time why I didn’t bother going the last two times. It’s cool to meet people and be honored by being able to access a space and event that is reserved but outside of formalities, it didn’t make me excited to be there.ย But some part of me knew that going in. Still I went because I could at least say that I did it.

Outside of that, that concludes this post. Just thought that sharing that would be nice to go back and look at or read. I hope you guys enjoyed that.

Until next time, cheers!


When was the last time you went to a formal reception? Do you enjoy receptions? What are some of your personal academic achievements? Leave all your thoughts below!

7 thoughts on “Making The Dean’s List!

  1. ๐ŸŽ‰Congratulations! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
    Awesome achievement….but not unexpected. ๐Ÿ˜
    I made Deans list my junior and senior year a few times. But it was when I earned my Master’s Degree that I had a perfect 4.0. I was out of town so didn’t attend. ๐Ÿ˜ž
    My husband is VERY smart and wise. But he was a goof off in HS. Attended college later in life (30s) and did very well. He graduated Cum Laude and their reception-which I made him attend (he hates dressing up) was fabulous! He really felt honored and it sticks with him today!

    Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

