Thoughts From The 8th Of April (2016)

Hey there Wonderful Listeners.

Yesterday, was a fun day for me. Two things happened and one of them is big and the other is big in a different way. Either way, I’m just gonna tell you about them.

Let me start this story by saying that I came home to San Antonio on Thursday night. I drove back with a friend, Melissa (high-five if you remember what post she was mentioned in) because we both needed to head that direction.

I got to my parents’ house at about 8:15 pm and surprised my little sister. She was stoked to see me and gave me the biggest hug. I chilled with her for a little bit before saying hi to everyone else. Then I retreated to my room (well, it’s a guest room now.)

I woke up the next morning excited for what was to happen! I had an interview for a summer internship with an art gallery called Artpace. Obviously, I was stoked about this opportunity.

I do think that it went well. Granted, there were some awkward moments between me and my interviewer. See, we had been in contact via email and I accidentally kept referring to her as “him.” So when she corrected me, I was embarrassed.Β But that’s OK. I think I handled myself very professionally; I showed up early, thoughtfully and honestly answered all her questions and made a strong impression (I think.)

My hope is that I will get the job for the summer. I’ll find out come April 15th, whether or not I made the cut. If all continues as it’s been going thus far this semester, I have this job in the bag. πŸ˜‰

Outside of that business, I spent the rest of the day fulfilling errands for my parents because they want to make the most of my time with me being home by forcing me to do hard labor. You know, it’s the standard right?.

I also got to see my friend David. He’s been my neighbor for a few years and my family and his family are close. Maybe not as close as some others I can think of but they definitely make the cut! They’re awesome people.

Anyway, I got to hang out with him. You know, he’s been away on active duty so seeing him was a real treat. We caught up, I ate some of his food (because I got it good like that), and we smoked a little hookah.

We even got caught up in the beauty of culture! πŸ™‚ See, he was stationed in Dubai and managed to snag a hookah while he was there. On top of that, he brought back some hand-woven items that I simply adore! Rugs and blankets that make you want to move to Dubai! πŸ™‚

Overall, it was a good time. I had a good day and that’s all I can ask for. TheΒ only downside to my day was that labor my parents had me do. I needed to tend to their yard and that was a no-no for my allergies. My asthma flared up really fast so I was not happy. :/ But, that was the only downside, hardly being able to breathe. πŸ™‚

But, that’s the summary of my day. Nothing too fanciful happened. Hope you enjoyed reading that. Until next time, cheers!


Do you have any friends/family overseas or deployed? How do you feel about allergies? Leave all your thoughts below!

7 thoughts on “Thoughts From The 8th Of April (2016)

  1. Enjoyed your ramble except for the allergy part. I am sorry about that. One of my sons has allergy challenges and sometimes it can be quite rough on him. It’s been hectic on my side, just launched my poetry book and working had at my story collection. Also hosting a monthly blog party.
    Take care and see you around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes the allergies are unfortunate. I do hope your son doesn’t have it too hard though but I understand his plight.
      I saw about your book! Congrats on that by the way! πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if I’ll make it to the party but I’ll definitely want to be at the next one! πŸ™‚

      Like

Interject Your Thoughts!

