In The Summer Ahead…

Hi Wonderful Listeners!

Well, it’s that time in life again. School will be officially done in a few days. That got me to thinking a lot about my upcoming summer. And, boy, am I thinking about summer..!

OK. Let me explain. A lot has been on my mind recently. I don’t know how to structure my thoughts so I’m just gonna ramble (as I often do.)

So one thing I’ve been thinking about lately is how excited I am to be using my “free time” to make more art and creative work. I’ve even written notes to myself to keep making work over the summer break! I plan on finishing at least 3 mini-series before the summer is over. Usually for a mini-series, one has about 7-15 works in one collection. That’s a lot of work but it’s definitely do-able.

My hope is that I’ll keep you all updated on how those are going and even show you the finished products!

Before I show you the new artwork though, I’ll need to upload the first post of my newest upcoming feature! (More on that as it develops.)

So that’s one thing: my development as an artist by creating more work.

Another thing that’s been on my mind is money. Oh boy. Money just never fails to escape the mind now does it? (Even if it seems invisible, it never leaves.) See, I have a job lined up for the summer starting June (the internship) and that has me excited. I will learn so much. However, it will not pay me as much as I had hoped it would.

The internship, while it is a paid one, will only give me a gross sum of $2000 for the entire ten weeks I’ll be working there. That’s not even minimum wage. Do you know what that means? It means that I’ll have to find a second job to add-on top of that one. This is not anything to be sad about but I am realistic.

By having a second job, I will have little to no free time to do what I want to do. That bothers me a bit. And while I have the choice to just save as much as I can and ration it out, I really can’t on the money my internship will give me.

I have quite the number of debts to pay back to people for this past academic year. I absolutely hate owing people money. I hate it. So I always pay it back as soon as I’m able. And I still need to pay rent during the summer. On top of debts I need to pay back, I have to start budgeting for this upcoming school year that starts in August so I know how much money I truly require.

The way that I pay for school is this: I take out loans for tuition and rent and I handle everything else (food, transportation, recreation, supplies, etc.) That’s always a lot on my back to be doing. So I save every penny that I can muster, even if I have to cut back on the things I want in life.

So yes, according to my projected budget, a second job is necessary. And I will need to save every penny I get from that too. Hooray for being an adult.

That’s the second thing: money and how much of it I don’t have.

Another I start to think about is making time for other people. You guys should know by now that I adore people and being around people. I love helping, volunteering, and above all spending quality time with loved ones BUT that’s going to be a lot harder to do with very little time for myself this summer.

I’ve been wondering how I’m going to do it. After all, I anticipate to be so busy that I’ll need to have a complete schedule of my day planned out (which is a bit droll.) It won’t necessarily be the funnest but I’ll need to find some way of making sure I do all of these things with my open time.

I have no solutions to these problems yet but I’ve been dealing with things as they come for years so I have some faith in myself.

Oh! And how could I forget about my dear Pineapple? You know he is really going to be playing a role in my life during the summer. And all of you Wonderful Listeners, how am I going to be keeping you in my thoughts in regular intervals? I don’t know but if I understand anything about myself, it’s that I gravitate back to my blog when I need some solace.

So all of these things are on my mind for the summer and they’ll only get more intense as this week wraps up. I truly do wonder what this summer holds for me but I’ll allow myself to be surprised. I like surprises anyway.

OK. With all of that said, I think I’m done for now. I do hope you got something out of that. Until next time, cheers!


Do you have any advice for me? What’s your summer looking like right now? Leave all your thoughts below!

7 thoughts on “In The Summer Ahead…

  1. I worked all through my college career. The hard part is trying to find work you can learn something from! First job was in the local mall selling video games and software. When I left that job, the people I sold software to kept coming in and asking for me by name. Had made that much of a difference. The second job was the internship I had landed in the field of computers. Eventually was hired on full time (means full time real money) about a year before I actually graduated!

    The internship become my first full time job in network engineering! I loved telling data packets not only where to go, but how to get there (know it sounds like I was telling the packets off). Sometimes the packets where sent to the trash since they were not allowed on my networks!

    Just make sure you do not end up catching mono due to lack of sleep and the people you where near like I did! Drug me down for a week or so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For a simple season. Yeah, that’s no issue that I’ll have to work but it’s the downside of sacrificing a part of life that I truly treasure for the sake of building myself up.
      But again, only for a season as you say Debs.

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

