Thoughts From The 5th Of May (2016)

What’s up Wonderful Listeners!

Yesterday was Cinco de Mayo. I’m from Texas, specifically San Antonio, and man, my city doesn’t play when it comes to this date! Even though it’s not an official holiday, we treat it like it is. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a bomb turn-up yesterday with my friends! ๐Ÿ˜‰

So I actually had some errands to take care of yesterday morning, and by errands I mean coming back to school to pick up my work and clean up my workspaces. Yeah, even though art majors at my school finish finals early (which is not always convenient) we still have to come back during the last week.

Well, the day starts off at 7:30 AM (and I’m enjoying not having to wake up at that time routinely anymore.) I zombie my way out of bed to catch the bus. (By the way, my backpack has not felt so light in aย very long time.) I plug in my favorite tunes, something to get my body movin’ and active for the day.

Reunion by Stars comes on. Love this song just because it’s so relatable. There’s always someone you’d like to reunite with if given a second chance. ๐Ÿ™‚

So I use that to help me skip (yes, I was skipping) to class. The sun was shining a bit more warm than usual for the morning; it was fantastic.

I show up to Metals I for the last time and I was put in charge of cleaning up the computer station. Oh boy. Well, I like cleaning up messes and leaving things better than they were and Iย most certainly did that. Seriously, if I could show you the before and after, you’d be like, “Wow! You did that? It looks amazing!” And you’d say it sincerely. ๐Ÿ˜‰

You know, I became so committed to cleaning that mess up that I stayed past the time necessary. The clean-up was done at 10 AM but I stayed until 10:30 AM. I was generously thanked for my efforts and then shoved out of the studio, with a smile of course. ๐Ÿ™‚ Granted, I probably would have stayed longer if they hadn’t made me leave. I just wanted to finish my project.

Oh! Before I forget, want to see my final for Metals? I got a perfect grade on it! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I made a handheld viewfinder. I was inspired by my major and wanted to make something I would actually use. I love this thing now!

Here’s a side view of it. I chose to use brass as my main metal. I love how yellow it is. ๐Ÿ™‚
Oh did I mention it had a detachable front? Yeah, it’s cool like that.
And as a special treat, here’s a picture of my very first assignment in Metals. The “selfie” project.

Anyway, I went upstairs to the fourth floor to pick up my final project from Intermediate Digital Photography. I also took the liberty of picking up my final for Studio Photography at the same time. At this point, I had no ties left toย school and so I had the freedom to leave.

But I didn’t leave. Right as I finished picking up my work, I received a text message from my boss (for the lab monitor gig) asking me to help her and her other partner pack away the photography department’s everything. When I say everything, I pretty much mean everything.ย I had nothing else to do so I agreed. I walked around the corner from where I picked up my work and then I set my bag down and started helping out. Once again, I became obsessive in my work and wanted to do it right.

For example, I was packing away the reels for 35 mm film and I noticed that there were different sized reels in the same box. I asked my boss and found out that they were 120 mm reels so I took it upon myself to separate them into different boxes, even though they were all reels and going to be put in the same general area.

I tend to get extremely particular. Now, I didn’t manage to do much to be honest but I definitely worked some magic and helped their efforts along. I was a bit proud of myself for being extra helpful and I was rewarded for it! Barry, the head of the Photography department, kindly bought me lunch. ๐Ÿ™‚

Honestly, my boss just asked us to come and help if we wanted/could. And I had nothing else to do but in the process I got a nice surprise for my work! I had just been having a great day at this point. ๐Ÿ˜€

Then I went to my Studio Photography final just to say good-bye to Burt. He’s been such a huge influence for my work. I couldn’t simply not say good-bye to him so I went and spent some time with him. And by spent some time I mean spend a whole hour talking about life. We do that when we get together and I never regret it. Ever. ๐Ÿ™‚

There’s the man himself, Burton Pritzker. Old, but boy you’d be wise to take notes of what he says.

After that happened, I left school (finally!) And I walked about five blocks away to my friend’s (Aubrey) house. It was somewhat hot (and by somewhat I mean 85ยบ Farenheit) yesterday so I was glad that I dressed for summer weather. The walk was nice because I got to listen to more tunes! ๐Ÿ™‚

When I arrived to her house, her party was only just getting started. (By the way, I was headed to a party. ๐Ÿ˜› ) She very much wanted it to be a celebration of getting through the semesterย and she wanted to celebrate her dog’s birthday. Yeah, she loves her dog alright!

Honestly, so many people showed up and it was a good time all around. I took a few snapshots of my time there.

We ended up grilling out and the food was so good! Cori, my friend, did her thing! ๐Ÿ™‚ Also the appetizers were killer. And I’m a foodie so I may have gorged myself a bit but I had a good time!

Look at all the dogs! Every other person brought one it felt like! They were all cute anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚
That’s Aubrey’s dog, Cooper. She loves him enough to get him a kiddie pool as a present. True love for your pet right there.

We found time to play some volleyball and hula-hoop. We sat out by the fire pit Aubrey has and chatted about our final grades (even though we were supposed to be ignoring school.) We talked about what next year might be like and, well, we just talked.

I also got a bit inebriated. Won’t lie. But I was safe in what I was doing. Honestly, it starts to get annoying being the only sober person at a party. Of course, this time I wasn’t since there were so many people there but all ofย my friends were under the influence. So I joined them, just to be a bit social.

Let me tell you, I needed that break from everything. Like, my body was still in work mode and that party just took all the “work” out of me. I was so relaxed yesterday. Like I said, it was a good time! ๐Ÿ˜€

You know, we got so relaxed, we even found time to sit up on Aubrey’s roof and just talk. By this point, the sun had gone down and the party was slowing down too. I like to talk so being out under the stars with friends just talking about life was nice. I treasure those moments.

I was getting off of the roof and snapped a photo. I forgot that iPhones take crap pictures at night though.

Yeah. Well, after that, I left the party and went home. I’d say that it had been a great day overall! definitely made some memories so it was worth it.

But that’s the end of that story. Hope it tickled your fancy. So, until the very next time, cheers!


Would/do you throw parties for your pet? Leave all your thoughts below!

6 thoughts on “Thoughts From The 5th Of May (2016)

Interject Your Thoughts!

