While “Adulting” I Learned…

What’s going on Wonderful Listeners!

So, it has come to my attention that I have been made out as a model of some sort for “adulting.” You know, I will say that I am an adult by the law’s standards. According to my age, I should be an adult. The fact that I can sign for most things without parental supervision and accompaniment, says that I’m an adult.

But guess what? I’m only human. I’m all of 20 years old, going on 21. While I am an adult, it sure doesn’t feel like it. I’m only doing my best to live a life that I can be happy with; sometimes that means taking care of adult responsibilities. I’m only doing the best I know how to.

But, Jessica, one of the Wonderful Listeners, suggested that I help out others like me who are trying this “adulting” thing out. In light of her suggestion, I figured it would make for a good post, and if nothing else, a good laugh.

So with that being said, I present to you an incomplete list of guidelines on how to be an adult.


A Very Incomplete List of Guidelines For “Adulting”

  • Be punctual. It’s a lot easier to get what you need by being on time.
  • Time is precious, so don’t waste it.
  • Keep yourself as healthy as possible. It’s bothersome to fix your health and it’s not easy either.
    • To add to this, here’s a sublist of recommendations:
      • Exercise when you can. Make it a natural thing and it won’t be a chore. Even getting up and walking around your neighborhood will work!
      • Brush your teeth everyday. Seriously, no one likes bad breath. x.x
      • Take a shower. If you don’t the bacteria will come to get you! 😯
      • Eat a balanced meal. Half the battle of staying healthy is eating right. Make room for veggies, fruits, and grains. Balance your meat and carbs. And don’t forget, reward yourself with a dessert every now and again. 🙂
      • If you have a genetic health condition, do not, I repeat, DO NOT IGNORE IT! ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS, put this in the forefront.
  • Learn to be independent. When learning how to adult, it is crucial to know how to be efficient by yourself.
    • Here’s another sublist for this little tip:
      • Learn to wash your own clothes.
      • Learn how to cook food. You can’t live on microwave meals and take-out forever.
      • Learn how to get to places without relying on someone you know. This can mean walking, biking, driving and/or taking public transportation.
      • Learn how to properly clean your household.
      • Learn how to iron your clothes.
      • Learn how to style your own appearance.
      • Learn how to solve problems alone.
      • Learn to be financially coherent. You know, doing taxes, paying bills, budgeting, etc.
  • Keep learning things! Any knowledge is always useful when given the proper context to be used in.
  • Money is a fickle thing so learn how to budget it properly!
  • Debts suck. Pay them back ASAP.
  • Be friendly to people. Not only will people be willing to cooperate with you, but they’ll like you too. People who are liked, consequently, have more help when needed.
  • Know when to relax and when to work, and while you’re at it, balance the two.
  • If it can be helped, save your money where you can. Emergencies are more frequently than they appear to be.
  • Don’t be afraid of hard work which gives little reward. While it sucks to work hard for practically nothing, remember that some rewards take time to receive.
  • Learn how to be the most confident you. I’m not saying to be cocky; I am saying to be assured in what you can possibly accomplish as well as what you definitely are able to do.
  • Learn when to say no. Sometimes the best choice is to just say no.
  • Learn to make a decision and stick with it. Choice is completely fine but flip-flopping is not.
  • Learn the etiquette of particular events and scenarios. You’ll stick out like a sore thumb when you are dressed improperly for an event, or make odd conversation at specific venues.
  • Don’t try to be anyone but yourself. You’ll fail at being anyone else but you’ll always succeed at being you.
  • Don’t be afraid to ask questions. No one expects you to be an encyclopedia.
  • Admit when you’re wrong. You won’t always be right and the least you can do is admit that you’re wrong when you are wrong.
  • Don’t lie to others. Lies always disappear and reveal truth if given enough time.
  • Learn to be honest with yourself. It’s better to tell yourself the truth and believe it than waste time believing a lie only to have to confront the truth anyway.
  • If it can be helped, don’t rush things. The best things in life take more time than you think.
  • Learn to communicate well with others.
    • I got a sublist for this one too:
      • Learn to listen, and not just hear. Hearing is unconscious. Listening takes effort.
      • Communication is all about messages. Messages are no good if you can’t understand them. Ask for clarification when needed!
      • Sometimes communicating well means understanding context. Context is very important.
  • Love will come when it comes. You can’t force it.
  • Use common sense, at all times. This ability is so important that you can’t afford to not use it 24/7.
  • Start figuring out yourself ASAP. Every little thing you learn adds up to make a person. That person is you and strangely enough, you don’t reveal yourself to yourself in one fell swoop. You do it in pieces; keep collecting them and the picture will start to come through.
  • Be open to change. Life is never still, and is always changing. You can’t live if your stuck in the same place forever.
  • Don’t be afraid to remove toxic people from your life. Life is hard enough without people you spend your free time with bringing you down.
  • Learn to compromise. You can’t have everything your way so learn to accept what you can have your way, even if it’s not completely your way.
  • Learn to admit when you need help. No one can be strong forever. We are all human and therefore, we all will fall and sometimes those falls are so hard that we can’t stand on our own. Don’t be afraid to ask for help.
  • Find work that is fulfilling to you. We will work throughout most of our lives, so it’s important to make that time well spent on something we care about.
  • Make time for those who make you happy. Whether it be family, friends or lovers, they deserve time in your life.
  • Learn to control your emotions. Controlling is not the same as suppressing, it just means that you are in-tune with your emotions and can understand them without letting them run wild.
  • You can be your own worst enemy. Sometimes the biggest obstacle in life, is you.
  • Learn to plan things in advance and to plan reasonably.
  • Failure is a good thing, as long as you learn from it.
  • Learn to persevere. As the saying goes, “If at first you don’t succeed, try again.”

While the list can go on forever, never forget that no one is “adulting” perfectly. Everyone is just doing the best that they can, the best they know how to do it. Life is a journey and with every journey comes experience. It’s whether you use that experience you gain to make the journey a smoother one or not, that really counts; i.e. as long as you learn from your mistakes and successes, you’ll make a great life for yourself.

Well, that’s my two cents on this. I only know so much at 20 years old so forgive my miniscule wealth of knowledge. I do hope that something in that list made sense or spoke to you. Use it! It’s free advice that I’ve found to lead me in the right way.

But that’s my laundry list of wisdom. I know it goes on, but a slice has more to savor than the whole cake. Until next time, cheers! 🙂


How is “adulting” going for you? Do you have any advice to impart onto me? Leave all your thoughts below!

14 thoughts on “While “Adulting” I Learned…

    1. Aww well don’t down yourself! You probably are doing more right than you realize. Just make sure you’re learning from your mistakes and successes. 🙂
      Thanks for reading and stopping by lavieenrose!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I believe I owe it to my painful experiences and observant mind. I’ve grown, probably much faster than most my age, because of a lot of hardship. And I’ve always been one to learn by the mistakes of others and not just myself. So, I guess it’s no surprise that I would gain so much wisdom so quickly.
      But thank you for reading Oneta 🙂 I really appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

