Through The Woods You’ll Find…

Good evening Wonderful Listeners!

Today, although rather mundane, was quite invigorating. I went out to shoot more photos again today and that’s what I ended up doing all day. Even though I don’t have any artistic work to show you, I can talk about what was going through my head at least.

Before I do that, let me preface you with how my day started. I woke up at 2 PM. (I’m starting to reset my sleep schedule since I will be needing to be up at 6 AM every morning come June.) Immediately, the first thing that popped into my head was to go out and shoot. This thought is becoming so second-hand that it might turn into a habit soon! 🙂

Anyway, I went out into the woods around my neighborhood once again. It was a cloudy day all day today, with a few sparse moments of drizzling. That wasn’t going to stop me from collecting for material for myself! (I do admit that I was hesitant in my walk because if it really started to rain, I’d have to go back home.)

I started at the park. In my head, I was thinking that I should shoot the changes that I’ve noticed happening around my neighborhood. I’ve been imagining a new series of juxtaposition of what was to what now is. Honestly, I’m a bit saddened by the changes I’m seeing in my neighborhood. This feeling really kicked up once I was in the woods.

You see, there’s construction happening inside the woods in my neighborhood.

They’re not finished yet. I was actually not supposed to be near the site but I’m a rebel! And I almost got caught…

The once untouched and untamed, is now being bulldozed to make way for running trails. While one half of me does admit that it would be nice to have actual trails in the woods, the other half of me would rather get lost in its vastness.

This trail now goes through a clearing in the woods. You can see it in the distance.
But of course, there is inevitable destruction as a result. That’s the part I’m hurting about.

Honestly, I had so many bout of nostalgia while shooting today. After all, I spend 3 1/2 hours out there, getting lost and just exploring. You know, I went farther into the woods than I ever had in my entire life of living in my childhood neighborhood. And, what I saw, well, it made we more torn up about what they were going to do to it.

The natural beauty of the untouched is more appealing. Humans tend to tarnish the image.

I can’t say I’m a conservationist but I do have fond memories of the woods. They’ve always been magical to me; I felt like a child again whenever I went into them. Although, at particular portions of my walk, I definitely felt like an adult.

After getting past “The Drop” (which is a cliff side) I truly started to explore. I was entering territory that I’ve only heard about but never seen. Well, there were a few moments of backtracking because of dead ends and impassable barriers. I admit that but that’s a part of exploring!

I managed to see “The Swamplands” in person myself. They’re really dingy looking and they have a feeling of slow decay. Honestly, we call them “The Swamplands” because the ground out there is not even dirt. It’s decaying leaves, mud, and dried out tree parts. So, I realized very quickly how easy it is to lose your footing!

img_3985
This is the outskirts of “The Swamplands.” I couldn’t bear to snap a shot inside of it because I would’ve been eaten alive! It doesn’t look it but I promise that the footing is loose.

Then, I continued forward into the outskirts of “The Swamplands” and found the dam. There’s a dam in the woods near my neighborhood but hardly anyone is ever seen there, even those who have credentials to be there! So, it’s nice and quiet. It’s got a great view if you get on top of it and you can see “The Swamplands” and even into the neighborhood behind it.

img_3988
The bottom of the dam. I actually climbed up on those rocks to snap a shot. But, if it weren’t for my balance, I’d probably have a broken neck right now. Those rocks are not secured into anything!
img_3994
Continuing my climb to the top of the damn. At least there’s this nice tree up here. I wouldn’t sit near it though because of all the weeds and critters.

 

img_3995
This is a flat part near the top. I did go past this point but nothing interesting was back there. Still, I loved the scenery!

Being up there, I realized just how high up a dam can be. My depth perception began to shift unconsciously. I felt like I had vertigo just walking on the 7 foot path that is on the top! But, I didn’t want to leave. Once I had gotten to the dam—the farthest out you can go before meeting the highway, I just stopped.

I started to take in everything around me. Even though the weeds and wildflowers weren’t interesting, the vastness of the space which I was in was breathtaking. Honestly, photos do not do it justice but if you were up there with me, you’d understand. I’m not sure how long I was up there but I eventually got down to continue exploring.

img_3992
My view from the top. Honestly, this photo will never do it justice.

Then I went a little further to see if there were any hidden goodies (which all too often are hiding in the woods.) There wasn’t anything except some peculiar looking stone formations. Honestly, I’m not sure how they got there.

img_3981
Seriously, who put these here? Mother Nature? If so, she’s got great Feng Shui!

At this point, I need to backtrack so I could get all the stuff I missed on the way out. I had to go back through part of “The Swamplands” but I missed most of it due to another path I found. I was quite thankful for that.

Sidenote: I had never seen so many mosquitoes in my life! Literally, I couldn’t take a single step in “The Swamplands” without at least 75 mosquitoes flying at me! It was like a breeding ground out there. Needless to say, I became lunch. I was not happy about that. Also, the weeds are atrocious out there.

On the way back, I found out how to get to the bottom of “The Drop.” For years I had wondered, but now my wondering had ceased. Honestly, seeing the cliff side was captivating. I had never seen it from below to get an idea of just how tall it was, I was in awe. The formations of the rock were pretty too.

img_3999
I couldn’t get very close to is because there’s a slope right at the base. I didn’t want to risk loosing my footing for the second time!

Then I decided to get back to the top of “The Drop” to get my last shot of the day.

img_4002
Here’s the angle I took it from but the final image probably won’t look like this. It’ll be better! But this is nice too.

I was actually torn because I had one shot left and I saw three good ones. I settled for the best one, the one my gut told me was most important. Then I decided it was a good idea to sit and rest.

img_4006
I was so tired at this point! Honestly, I debated whether or not to take a nap.
img_4004
Don’t mind my dirty sneakers. I was trudging through mud all day. I took some time to get the “stickers” out of my socks and shoes. I didn’t want my walk home to be as painful as the walk here.

I spent a lot of time just thinking about how small I am in comparison to the natural world around me. Truly, being out in the endless woods (they feel that way anyway) and on the cliff side, put things into perspective. But, I did feel free. I felt free, like no one could bother me and that nothing would go wrong in life. “The Drop” is one of my happy places. 🙂

img_4014
Promise I have shorts on! But seriously, I don’t really like heights and I felt comfortable enough to dangle my legs off the cliff side. That’s how safe I feel being at “The Drop.” But it’s a long way down if I ever do drop!

Sidenote: Resting up there is wonderful. While you have little room to do it, you’re high up enough to avoid the thousands (seriously, thousands!) of mosquitoes down below. Plus, the wind picks up enough to cool you down from the hot sun but not enough to push you off. You can really let go (so to speak) up there.

img_4007
This little guy didn’t mind relaxing with me. Granted, he stared at me the whole time but whatever…

You know, while I was up there, I thought about how far I had walked. I think I walked a total of 3 miles just getting lost in the woods and “The Swampland.” Honestly, being in “The Swampland” is horrible. Although, when the rains go away, it turns into a Sahara. It’s much more tolerable in the middle of July.

img_4011
A bird’s-eye view of “The Swamplands” from the top of “The Drop.” Looks a bit more dingy from this viewpoint.

But after spending, I don’t know, maybe 20 minutes doing nothing but staring up at the sky, I got up and left.

img_4015
The sky is always beautiful!

I needed to get back home because I was sweaty, sticky, and stinky. However, after it all, I still will never forget this trip. I mean, I can still feel the mosquitoes on me right now! (Don’t worry. I’m just paranoid.)

I took the private trail back to side entrance of my neighborhood. The trail is actually on private property but I take my chances to capture the beautiful. I actually had to use part of it to get to “The Drop” but it’s just out of range of the private property area so being at “The Drop” is free game.

img_4016
Horrible picture but here’s the trail. I don’t like being on it for too long because I feel like a sitting duck for someone to notice me!

Once I got to the side entrance, I walked the mile to get back home. (I essentially had to walk to the other side of the neighborhood from this location.)

Aside from relaxing once I got home, I’ve just been cleaning up the house (or at least the upstairs. I’ll leave the downstairs for tomorrow.) I am, of course, keeping myself busy with other activities and errands but they’re not really blog worthy.

But that concludes my day. Just spent time getting lost in the woods, shooting photos and cleaning up. Nothing too exciting but it’s something. 🙂 OK. Until next time, cheers!


Are there specific places from your childhood that you’ve seen change? If so, do you feel good about the change? Do you still visit places from your childhood? Leave all your thoughts below! 

4 thoughts on “Through The Woods You’ll Find…

  1. That was great! I did just read about a project that would or did great damage to a natural ecosystem….I can’t remember where I read it, but if I find it, I’ll post it here.
    Anyway, that was really inspiring. My husband and I love our hikes in the woods/mountains because we both grew up where we had a natural woods area around our neighborhoods. We grew up playing army (me) and hubby was hunting (although he could never kill anything, his brother did and still does hunt). So this makes me want to go back to my woods and see if they’re are still there.
    We’re not tree huggers, but we do love the fact there are National, State and County parks that are off limits to development. They are national treasures and we are enjoying them by leaving no trace of our hike in and out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fantastic Debbie. Yeah I’m glad to have inspired you but I just feel very strong (as you probably can tell) about nature (or at least “my” woods.)
      I really want to visit a national park someday. I’ll have to take my camera. It’ll be a trip to heaven and back! 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucky you had something like this while growing up. Development has a way of destroying the natural beauty. Did you know that the trees of a whole forest was cut down and used in the construction of the Tri-Brough aka RFK Bridge in NYC. Humans won’t know the value of things until it is gone. I guess the owners of the private property of the wood like to run without getting lost…..otherwise let’s hope progress don’t ruin anymore part of those woods…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did not know that about the RFK Bridge. That’s sad but I suppose you might need to rid of a forest to make something like that, or maybe not? I don’t know.
      But we don’t value what we have until it’s gone. I am hoping that they don’t spread their construction any further than necessary.
      Thanks for reading George.

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

