A Bittersweet Reunion With Alex

Hey there Wonderful Listeners. :/

I am full of feelings right now. The reason being because I spent time with one of my best friends, after over two years of missed chances. I really am both happy and sad at the same time.

Well, OK. I’m referring to my friend Alex (who you might remember from this post.) I haven’t seen him in over two years as I already said. Can you imagine not seeing one of your best friends, someone whom you’ve called a brother, someone with whom you’ve shared secrets with, for that long? I mean, our history is a long one but I’m not gonna spill it out here.

Well, seeing him again was like bliss! 🙂 But before I get to that, let me backtrack. I spent all day cleaning up my house just to make it presentable. You know, I was raised on the moral that a clean home is essential for guests to be invited in. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to finish the entire house before he arrived but, I tried.

Funny thing was that we spent half of our time in the room which I didn’t finish cleaning (the one room I had left to clean in order to be done!) I just thought that was funny. But um, the cleaning was brutal. My parents’ house had not had a thorough cleaning like that in a very long time. So much dirt…

Anyway! I actually didn’t manage to change out of my cleaning clothes before Alex arrived. I was wearing a white-T and some jeans. A simple outfit to work in but the house did look good. I didn’t want to waste anytime that we had with each other doing other stuff.

Oh! But about that time of ours… Part of it was spent helping around the house. I mean, I am currently living under my parents’ roof so I had obligations. Unfortunately, that did cut into my time with Alex. I’m hardly irritated but I still am.

Where was I? Oh yeah! So when Alex came through that door, well, I was calm. I greeted him and invited him inside. Then, right after I closed the front door, we hugged. I gave him, well, actually scratch that. He gave me a huge hug. When I say huge, I mean HUGE!! He managed to lift me off the ground and into the air. I kinda laughed about it but, that hug was actually kind of nice. It was a nice I-haven’t-seen-you-in-so-long-that-I’m-gonna-hug-the-life-out-of-you hug.

Well, the big guy set me down and we went into the kitchen. By the way, we are almost the same height but he’s twice my size (now. We used to be similar sizes and then I lost a lot of weight.) Then we sat and talked. We were rambling on about childhood TV shows for quite some time. The thing is, my little sister completely interjected herself into our conversation. (Once again, this is fine but I did want more time for Alex and me to talk amongst ourselves.)

Well, at some point we moved upstairs. We spent the rest of our time together just catching up. Literally, we didn’t have time for much else. Unfortunately, he was scheduled to leave at 10:30 PM and he arrived at 7:00 PM. So, while I tolerated being dragged away from him, I wasn’t happy about it.

We actually spent most of our conversation just talking about Alex’s adventures over the last couple of years. I didn’t really say much of anything but that was fine with me. I wanted to hear what had been going on with him. We don’t get to talk much even over the phone. We’re both just so busy.

I guess you could say that we spent a lot of time doing nothing. I was fine with it because I was happy with what we were doing. I won’t really go into details about his life but just know that I enjoyed what he had to say. But, 10:30 PM arrived sooner than I had wanted. He had to leave.

Before leaving, we had decided that since he didn’t get to spend the night, that we’d find another time to meet up. We figured that next time we would have time to really just be with each other.

On the way out the door, we hugged again. This time was a bit more intimate. I mean, I was sad that he had to leave, but I was understanding of course. When he hugged me though, I began to feel how sad he was to leave too. I thought a simple hug would do the trick but he didn’t let go right away. He actually hugged me a bit tighter and just stayed there.

I reciprocated. I hugged tighter too and I just tried to not get emotional. I didn’t want to let go of him because I knew that letting go meant saying good-bye. I didn’t want to say good-bye. But then I held on for a bit too long and he had to kinda break free. He gave me a rather somber good-bye. I did the same.

(Don’t even blame us. We only got three hours with each other and part of it was spent doing other things that I couldn’t avoid. Then, we haven’t seen each other in years. Years guys. And to be honest, we don’t know when we will see each other next. We were lucky to see each other yesterday.)

As he was walking away, I felt like Kiara and Kovu from The Lion King 2: Simba’s Pride. I’m referring to that moment when they first meet and Simba and Zira pull them apart from one another. That moment when they say “bye” really softly.

Kiara_and_Kovu_Separate

Yeah, it was sad. But, I am thankful that I got to see him. That’s all I could really ask for, was to see him again.

Thinking back on it, even though I’m still sad, I’m very happy for seeing my best friend grow. I’ve touched on this before but he really has grown a lot. He’s strong, dependable, and stands up for himself. He has strong work ethic and treasures his friends. He’s learned how to work through tough relations with people, both close and not.

Alex, well, I’m so proud and happy that he’s my best friend. He’s my musketeer (one of them anyway) and I am blessed to have him in my life.

I wish I could say something more than just this but, that’s all I have. I love him like a brother. I treasure our time together. To be honest, I just want more. More time with him, more time to do stupid stuff and more time to reconnect.

I will say though, that since I’m not a bother (even though I have to remind myself of it), I’ll be calling him more often. While he’s not the best talker over the phone, he can go for hours when it’s me. So, I’ll try more often and hopefully, that will satisfy my crave.

But man, that hug… I almost wish it hadn’t been so short. I wish that I didn’t feel like crying but I do. I’m gonna cry a few tears. It’s happening. I just get emotional. I just keep replaying that hug over and over again. *sigh* But, life goes on.

I think I’m done with this post. Anything else I say will be unnecessary ramble. If you’re reading this, thanks for reading. I hope you all treasure your friends. Time is so precious. Make the most of it.

Until next time, cheers.


What’s the longest time amount you’ve gone without seeing somebody you care about? Leave all your thoughts below.

5 thoughts on “A Bittersweet Reunion With Alex

    1. I believe it Jacqueline. But we have to carry on. Thank goodness for the other forms of contact we do have in this era to stay connected to our loved ones.
      Thanks for reading dearest. 🙂 Much love to you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

