Elevator

Shh! as the steel door retract. 
The eyes begin to fall on you. 
All sound must cease, that is fact
And your silence is held by the few. 

Now as the box ascends upward
Stand in formation with others.
The wrapping of cables is heard
While personalities are under covers. 

Don’t watch. Don’t turn. Don’t look.
No good comes to those who peep;
For they are made temporary crooks. 
Only disdain is what they reap.

The box stops and the wall chimes. 
Someone exits and you try to breathe,
Try to compose yourself for the time
That you yourself prevent to receive. 

Now finally, after shaking
For only who knows how long,
You may finally exit the box raking
In the freedom that made you strong.

7 thoughts on “Elevator

  1. HI Carlos,
    I’ve never seen a poem about an elevator.
    I met you at Jacqueline’s party. You sounded funny, so I came to introduce myself. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Janice! It’s nice to meet you. I’m glad you found me funny enough to come and say hi 🙂
      I think I will stop by your blog and check out your material. In the meanwhile, make yourself at home in my realm! Lots to explore! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

