Hi Listeners! Did You Miss Me?

Hello Wonderful Listeners.

It has been a while hasn’t it? It must have been. Do you know how I know? Because I’ve never wanted to blog so much in my life thus far, and because I know I’ve been absent.

But even though I’ve been absent, let me tell you that I have not been without stories to tell. Although, some things that I have to tell, I will reserve for my intern diary entries. But for other things, I will be informing you as I have always done.

So I figure why not start with telling you at least how I’ve been.

Well, I’ve definitely been busy. You know, I’ve been working two jobs since June 6th. A 9-5 PM followed by a 6-12 (or 2 depending on the day) AM; it’s been hard on the Pineapple. I’ve never felt more tired and less rested in my life. I know I’ve said that before but I think this time it’s legitimate.

I’ve been sleeping whenever I can get it in, wherever. I’ve slept on the public bus, on the floor of my office, in the bathroom stalls, anywhere honestly. And while it luckily won’t be permanent, I’m definitely growing bags under my eyes. The tiny amount of sleep that I do get is precious.

Still, while life does seem to test me, I stand strong and I smile through it all. I actively remind myself that it all could be worse. After all, I am blessed to have what I have and to be doing what I’m doing.

I ask myself: “How many people get to do an undergraduate internship? How many people actually enjoy going to work? How many people still find time to relax and enjoy their loved ones through it all?” Of course, these are all rhetorical but they serve as a reminder for myself.

So, I will say, at least at this point in life, I’m doing alright. I’m making it and right now, that’s all I can do, is make it. I’m taking it day by day and doing what I can do. That’s all a human can do. So that’s what I’m doing.

On another note, the internship is going great! I am really enjoying myself. It’s a great time. Each day, is a new experience. Some days it’s chaotic and other days it’s tranquil. I’m glad for both.

On the flip side, I’ve returned to my previous summer job, where I work a cash register and interact with customers. Even there, I am blessed because my attitude seems to go a long way.

Honestly, I have a quick story to tell you about that. So, I was working the register and then this family came up to me. The father, whose name is Jon, asked me about what we offered and what deals were going on. You know, he was inquiring about his options.

Well, I ended up telling him all of his options and what I could do for him. He actually ended up leaving me a big tip for it too because I was so helpful. That was nice of him. I mean, I only gave him the service that I would want.

But then, later that night, I saw him again. He called out my name (which totally caught me off guard because hardly any customers calls me by my name at work) and took the time to tell me how wonderful I had made his experience for him and his family.

Oh! But wait, it gets better. Then, as my manager was walking by, he pulled my manager to the side and told him how great of an employee I was. Now that, right there, just blew me away. I had never experience that at this particular job. So, that really stuck with me.

Of course, because I know my managers, that little spiel of appreciation and praise wasn’t going to get me a raise or a reward or anything. It was simply that: a praise. But, I took it to heart because it meant something to me.

Well, that’s one of the stories from my job. But outside of work, I’ve found time between bus hopping to snap pictures with my film camera! Yes, I’ve been sneaking in that time wherever I could. After all, it’s not like I have the energy and time to spend a whole day just shooting photographs anymore. And I still won’t know how the images will turn out until I go back to school.

But I can at least tell you that I’ve been fascinated with the area of downtown San Antonio. That’s what I’ve been snapping pictures of. Anything and everything downtown that I can see that’s interesting to me, I’m taking a picture of.

But, to be honest, I think my brain is just going off on tangents at this point. I mean, that’s not anything new but still, I like to keep some structure to my content. Well, this is a true ramble. But I think I’m done.

Current status as of June 28th: Smiling whenever possible. Enjoying life and coping with the troubles of it.

Hope you guys enjoyed the post. Thanks so much for reading. Until next time, cheers! (Promise I’ll see you soon again.)

 


How have you guys been lately? Have you missed my rambling? What would you do to unwind if you had my schedule? Leave all your thoughts below?

9 thoughts on “Hi Listeners! Did You Miss Me?

  1. Pineapple, you are a joy to read. I love your business, your attention to important things, and your thankfulness even in the little things. I know young people who could use a dose of your attitude amidst the chaos in their lives. You sort of say, “Busy? But who isn’t?” Truthfully that is a joyful kind of life. When I was young we heard often that “Idle hands are the devil’s workshop;” it appears that you do not give him much time to mess up your head. Keep at it, and keep letting me know.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great update! I can say, whenever we get good service, we tell the person AND ask for the manager to give them the praise! Life is so tough, why not? I’m so happy to hear you were given that blessing!
    I have sad news….we’ve decided Texas will be too far for us this winter. We’ll be lucky to make it to Louisiana. 😞

    Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

