A Fantastic 4th Of July!!

Hi Wonderful Listeners!

Well, for all of those who live in the United States, you’d know that Independence Day just passed yesterday. I myself didn’t have any plans other than to eat some free food (as I always do.) At least, that was the plan until I went to this party…

So since the beginning of the yesterday, I had known that I was going to this party that my friend Roland was having. He has always hosted a big 4th of July bash but I’ve never been able to make it to one until yesterday. Of course, I knew that I would need a ride so I hit up my trusty friend Bryan.

Bryan doesn’t answer for whatever reason so I call my friend Armand instead. He picks up and tells me that he won’t be at the party until around 9:30 PM and I really didn’t want to wait that long (although I wouldn’t mind either.) So then I call my friend Paul and he picks up. We talk and work out a way for him to get me to the party and back one we leave.

He arrives at my house to pick me up and then we head out to Roland’s. Since it had been a while since I’d seen Paul, I had forgotten how uncomfortable it is to sit behind him. He’s a big guy so he needs the leg room in the car. I pretty much was in fetal position the whole time we were driving but I wasn’t bothered by it.

Jordan was in the car too. Apparently, Paul picked him up and would be dropping him off at his house too after the party. It had been a while since I’d seen Jordan so it was only getting better as time passed. Roland had informed me of all who was coming and I was excited to see Armand (a bestie), Kevin (a hot mess), and some other people.

The whole time I was thinking about how long it had been since I’d seen anyone from the gang and that was what really made we want to go. I figured that it would be the perfect chance to catch up on anything that I had missed and to take a break from the usual scene.

When we arrived, I kinda just barged into the house. Of course, since it was Roland’s house and I was technically no stranger, this was perfectly acceptable. Roland’s enormous family was there so I saw a lot of faces that I didn’t recognize or even know. It was nice to see Roland’s parents again because they are truly sweet people.

The gang and I spent our time in the garage, away from all of the crowd.

IMG_4568
Hey, as long as I’m with the crew, it’s fine by me!

But of course, since I live in Texas, it was hot outside, even though it was 7:00 PM. We sat out there in some chairs around a rickshaw table and played Peasant (which is a card game I had never played before.) Still, I couldn’t help but appreciate the view.

IMG_4570
Look at that Texas sunset! Ain’t it beautiful?

Between dodging kids and dodging playful insults (as most groups of guys tend to do), I made my way multiple times to the food table inside. There were burgers and hot dogs (typical 4th of July foods) but also lots of Latin dishes like Pupusas too (which are the bomb!) I may have overindulged just a bit.

Before I knew it, Kevin and the his crew had shown up. Now the party was starting to get a little crazy. Kevin always tends to be that way. We actually ended up playing King’s Cup (another card game which incorporates drinking) but that didn’t matter to me because I don’t drink. Although, the game was really fun to play!

IMG_4574
If you haven’t played, you need to. I’m just saying…

We switched off between that and playing pool. I was on a team with my friend Paul and we were against Roland and Jordan. Funny enough, Roland and I practically were playing the entire game because neither Paul nor Jordan could make a shot to save their life (which was hilarious since Paul was talking all the smack!) But it’s OK because I won anyway. 😛

Then the night came just like that. Suddenly it was dark outside and the King’s Cup was halfway full. Everyone was getting tipsy and around this time Armand showed up. He quickly got involved and caught up to everyone else quickly. We were talking so much smack, cussing (because we’re rowdy), dancing and laughing. It was a good ol’ time!

IMG_4572
Just relaxing on a summer night with the guys…

However, some players got a little too tipsy and ended up throwing up in the bathrooms and in the front yard. Honestly, all I could do was laugh because while we are a smart group, we can be pretty stupid sometimes just to show off.

When King’s Cup ended, it was super later. I think it was around 10:30 PM and we got to chillin’ in the garage and just talking. Paul and Armand went for a smoke (which I was surprised to learn that Armand smoked) and I was just the same old sober guy. I’m always that guy and I’m rather glad that none of my friends try to force me to drink or smoke.

We spent most of our time catching up with each other. Lots of questions were asked to me because no one had seen or heard from me for like a month straight. I wasn’t using my social media as much, wasn’t blogging all that much (which bums me out), and I barely had energy to answer phone calls or go out. So to have a nice recap for one night was really a blessing.

At some point, we whipped out the fireworks. You know you can’t have a 4th of July without fireworks! So we set them off and I have to say, fireworks are captivating. They really are. I could just sit and watch them for hours. All of the different noises and colors and explosion sizes just, well, make me happy. I think everyone set off at least one firework for fairness sake.

Well, I think near midnight some people tapped out. One of Kevin’s friends blacked out from the drinking and Roland did too. Unfortunately, he had to drink the King’s Cup at the end of the game and by midnight, he was out. He’s doing alright though so no worries. The rest of just set off the rest of the fireworks and kept talking.

I honestly missed talking like that with people because I feel like I rarely get to do it anymore. I don’t have time to relax and enjoy things because I am working non-stop. And it’s a struggle because I barely sleep right which means when I do have time, I’m tired and want to sleep. It’s a vicious cycle but, eh, it’s life.

Sometime around 1 PM, I decided that I was done for the night. I had had enough food and being around drunk friends and fireworks. After all, I wanted to be somewhat rested for work the next morning so that’s what I did. Paul, Jordan and I headed out for the night along with Armand. While the times had been good, we needed to get back to our lives (or at least be somewhat prepared to live them again.)

By the time I got home, I just plopped into bed. I had to be up at 6:30 AM, five and a half hours later so you know I wasn’t going to mess around. I went right to sleep.

While part of me wonders what my family did while I was gone, I’ll never really know but from what I hear, it wasn’t as lively as what I did. And for me, the excitement was enjoyment enough. I can’t complain about my 4th of July!

But that’s all for this post. I hope you guys enjoyed this snippet of my life. I haven’t really been keeping up lately because of the internship but hey, I’m doing what I can. I do hope everyone else had a good 4th of July though!

So, that’s all for now. Until next time, cheers!


What did you do for the 4th of July? Leave all your thoughts below!

Interject Your Thoughts!

