Thoughts From The 30th Of August (2016)

Hey there Wonderful Listeners,

Man today was much better than yesterday. Straight up. Like, I enjoyed myself more and I think part of that has to do with the fact that I had less to worry about today than I did yesterday. But to get to the point, today was pretty good. πŸ™‚

So, let me just get to the retelling already. So my day started at 11AM with my Advanced Digital Photography class. Since it was being taught by Barry (whom I’ve had once before), I didn’t really feel worried about anything.

And you know, rightfully so. Barry was to the point about everything and asked us what we wanted out of this class aside from what he was going to teach regardless. But it was syllabus day so class was like an hour and then we were gone. Granted, it felt much more lively because I was in there with most of my photo friends, and some familiar faces.

But then, right after class ended, I wanted to go and get lunch. Chelsea, Cori and my new friend Ana tagged along with me to go get some grub as well. After all, our next class was in the exact same room as my Advanced Digital class and we were all in it together. So of course, it didn’t make sense to split if we didn’t have to.

Anyway, we went to Jones Dining Hall again for lunch today. I really wanted some Panda Express so I put up with waiting in line (a very long line at that) to get some. While waiting in line, Chelsea went to go snag us a table and Cori went to go get her own food. Ana decided to stick with me and get some Panda too! ^_^

Now, since we had a while before we would reach the counter, we decided to talk with each other. Honestly, it started out as her looking for friends to make because she wanted to be social and to have some friendly relationships. I totally get that so I was glad to become a fast friend.

We talked about our lives and our summers. I actually ended up venting to her about my summer and my projected woes that I would encounter for this semester. I didn’t mean to vent but I really wanted too. And she was nice enough to let me so I did. I mean, I’ll be just as busy (if not, more) than I was last academic year. So my dream of having time to relax is quite a fantasy at this point.

But I thoroughly enjoyed my conversation with her. She was nice and she was interesting. Not to mention that she was actually cute. πŸ˜‰ I mean, I’ve seen cuter but she’s definitely cute regardless. But of course, that’s why she’s already taken… The good ones always are. Duh.

So where was I? Oh yeah. We got our lunch and then sat down with the other two. We ended up chatting about our shared woes and excitements of what our advanced level classes would bring. Since we are all in it together, we don’t mind (and enjoy actually) spit-balling to each other.

Well, we stuffed our faces and then headed back to Sabinal where we were before lunch. (And did I mention how wonderful that building looks now? I absolutely love it!) Anyway, we got back to Sabinal and we waited in our Thesis I class. The rest of my photo friends were already there and I saw some more familiar faces. Honestly, most of us in that Thesis class are in Advanced Digital altogether too.

(Can I just take a moment to say how crazy it is that I’m in my thesis class already? I mean, what??? Like, that’s just insane. It was only a few years ago that I got to college in the first place. Wow…)

Well, class starts and Jason Reed walks in. He’s the professor who’s teaching the class. And everyone has said that he’s cool and all and I get that relaxed vibe from him too. However, I was slightly put off when he said thatΒ he will determine whether or not we get to move on and graduate. That made me uneasy but he was right anyway…

The point of a Thesis class is to focus on your craft as if no one is there to help you. You’re basically working solo. It just so happens that your solo work will be graded much more heavily and less leniency is given. After all, it’s supposed to mimic the real world. So I’m nervous but it’s a good nervous.

Even though I’m still figuring out where I’m going to get all of my time to make all of this work, I’ll figure it out. That’s how I’ve always been anyway. And last year taught me to haul ass and be responsible so that what I gotta do.

But it was only syllabus day. There wasn’t much he was going to make us do. And he didn’t make us do much. So after we went through the syllabus and what we needed for next class, we were off.

I went home and relaxed. I did some laundry, ate dinner, chatted with my roommates; it was a good time. Of course, now that all formalities are aside, the real work is beginning. Next week is going to be the real start of the test of my endurance.

How am I going to balance having a job, being a Secretary for an exclusive club, having a social life, making the art I want, making the art I must, and reading about 150 pages a week plus some writing papers? Oh and did I mention that I’m applying to art shows left and right, buying new tools and materials for my craft, as well as running this blog of mine? Yeah, that’s happening too. So I don’t know. I really don’t.

But I’ll figure it out. I always do.

Well, that’s all I got for you guys. Hope that fancied your interest. I don’t know when I’ll be back next with a post but I’ll come when I can spare a moment. Until then, do take care of yourself guys. πŸ™‚

As always, until next time, cheers!


Did you have a job while you were in college? If so, how did that work out for you? Leave all your thoughts below!

3 thoughts on “Thoughts From The 30th Of August (2016)

Interject Your Thoughts!

