Some Thoughts After Coming Home

Wonderful Listeners,

As a small reminder to those of you still reading my content (and I am aware that many have stopped reading), I am back in my hometown for the winter break. I got back roughly a week ago and my time has been, well… quite “meh.”

Now don’t get me wrong. I love being home. However, I think many of those who are a part of my generation can agree that returning home from college, can be really draining. I mean, I’m so used to living my life as I please, being my own responsible adult, and spending my time with my friends circle. But coming home, I remember that I am suddenly cut off from a large portion of that friends circle; I remember that I’m a responsible adult now under my parents’ roof and rules; I remember that my life is not ever-so-slightly not completely mine. And above all, I cannot be myself.

Level with me here. Since I’ve been back, I’ve spent most of my time with my little sister. I love her and love spending time with her, even if we don’t do anything productive. I’ve been using my free time to relax and bask in the luxury of not having to be completely responsible. But still, that leaves me to be quite trapped and bored more times than not.

When you don’t have your own car, you can’t get to where you want quite so frequently and easily. When your friends circle shrinks dramatically due to a specific time constraint, you find yourself lonely. And when you still feel like you have to play face with your own mom and dad, it can be quite, um, depressing.

Now, I’m not depressed by any means. I’ve been using this time to catch up on other things I’ve wanted to do. For example, I’m back to blogging a bit more than before (and I’m trying to keep the momentum going.) This sudden surplus of free time has allowed me to do this. I also have time to do whatever else my mind is occupied with, like video games.

And you know what? I plan to use my free time in the remaining weeks I have to enjoy myself while I’m still in town. But overall, coming back home hasn’t been horrible. It’s actually been good. Just good. But I believe it’s going to get better. 🙂

Hopefully, I’ll myself to get out of the house more. Maybe I’ll go for more walks and just figure out some things that I need to figure out. Who knows? I leave that surprise for the future to reveal.

What I didn’t want to do, was inform you all about what’s going on with me. After all, I was quite the phantom for a while. But hey, I’m taking it one step at a time, so just be patient with me. OK?

Well, I think that’s all I wanted to say. I do hope you all will have a wonderful holiday season, a Merry Christmas if you celebrate it, a Happy Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or whatever you celebrate! 🙂 Just be happy guys! Be with your loved ones. Smile. Breathe the winter air. Enjoy yourselves.

Cheers!


How has your winter break been so far (if you just finished your fall semester)? What does it mean to return home to you? Leave all your thoughts below!

3 thoughts on “Some Thoughts After Coming Home

Interject Your Thoughts!

