A Snippet Of Sean’s Time

Wassup Listeners!

Here’s a little something for you. I had the pleasure of reconnecting with GC (you may remember him from this post) over tea. His real name is Sean, and I feel no problem using it now that that experience is water under the bridge.

I met him around 12:40pm at a place called Mocha’s and Java’s. It’s a nice little local coffee and tea spot in my college town. Anyway, we met up at that time, although we originally planned to meet up 10 minutes earlier. Eh, he was late because of a train so I mean, it happens.

Well, we grabbed our respective teas (I felt a good peppermint at the time and he got Earl Grey, a black tea) and sat down on the provided couches. What we discussed was not really all that exciting or important to be honest. However, I was nice enough to entertain the man since he’s not that bad of a guy. Plus, I was hoping that maybe I would be able to relate to him more if we talked one-on-one.

Well, we asked the usual questions: how are you classes going? Has it been hard? How do you feel about graduating? How’s life? What are you doing these days? Yada yada yada… I think we spent about an hour just chatting with each other. However, since it wasn’t about anything truly relevant or important, I can’t remember most of it.

What I do know is that in spending my time with Sean, I get conflicted. He’s a good person that I have a hard time relating to but who wants to relate with me. I don’t know how to address this situation, so I just entertain for the most part. But not to be too hard on myself and him, I do enjoy some things we talk about. But only some…

Honestly, I’m pretty sure he’s trying to connect with me because I never had anything against him. Obviously, he must have liked my company which is why he invited me to get tea during the afternoon between classes.

But, I think in the future I may visit him at his apartment and meet his dog, Daisy, and possibly say hi to Jason, his friend/roommate. But that’s for later in the future (possibly.) I think my snippet of Sean’s time was a healthy one. It was just enough and I wouldn’t mind doing it again, although, perhaps talking about something I care about maybe…

Around 1:40pm, Sean and I left. I needed to get to my 2pm class which was about 15 minutes away. Sean was nice enough to walk me over there, even though his 2pm class we would pass it by going to mine. Hey, he’s a nice guy so I suppose he’s got that going for him.

Let’s try this again sometime Sean… Maybe we’ll connect on a deeper level. Who knows?

OK. That’s all I got. Cheers guys!


Do you have acquaintances that you can’t seem to connect with in an intimate/deep way? What do you think of my predicament? Leave all your thoughts below!

3 thoughts on “A Snippet Of Sean’s Time

  1. I’m so behind on your life!!! Oh how I have enjoyed watching you grow, struggle, grow, and EXCEL in your endeavors!!! So I am just now trying to catch up again. I’m not getting notices of your posts via email….I thought I had re-subscribed. Oh well.
    I just admire your desire to figure things out! This meeting was so commendable. I am sure Sean has some real struggles based upon the previous post. Who knows, but I think it’s pretty cool how you guys worked out your living arrangements. Back in my day, the guys places were all pig pens and no one had respect for anyone….Anyway, YES, i have had many people who I wanted to connect with or that wanted to connect with me on a deeper level and we just couldn’t work it out. That’s ok…just being civil and trying like this was great. A real step in human growth. But I am sure he sees something in you he admires and he just wants do be able to have the same trait. That’s just my grandmotherly intuition….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Firstly, let me thank you for returning to my realm Debbie! So good to see you again! 🙂
      Secondly, I suppose you’ll be catching up for a while. I’ve been writing quite a bit recently. But that’s more enjoyment for you I suppose!
      Third, thank you for the advice. Being civil is the best thing I could do, huh? Perhaps time will reveal why we both are still trying to connect with each other.
      Thanks for commenting Debs. I missed you.

      Liked by 1 person

Interject Your Thoughts!

